Friday photo flashback

On Fridays I like to cater to my nostalgic side and take a look back at some of my favorite photos and memories.

Today when I was getting ready a song came on my iPod that prompted today’s photo flashback. It was These Are Days by the 10,000 Maniacs. To me, this just isn’t a song. It brings back a flood of memories from my sorority days in college. “Days” as we called it was our sorority’s song.

I’ve mentioned being in a sorority several times, but never really explained why I treasured that experience so much. As much as I love Kent now, that’s how much I hated my freshman year. I was miserable with literally no friends and I fled campus every weekend to return home to Columbus. If it weren’t for my medallion scholarship that paid for all of my college expenses, I would have transferred in a heartbeat. My mom (ever so wisely) talked me out of giving up that scholarship and instead of running away I sucked it up and returned for my sophomore year.

In an effort to turn my college experience around, I signed up for sorority recruitment in the fall of 2002. On the first (of four) days of recruitment, I immediately knew where I belonged. I still remember meeting Alpha Phi that first day and watching them line up in their cute pastel themed matching recruitment outfits to sing Days to us rushees. I got goosebumps. And a week and a half later at bid day I became a Phi! Joining a sorority literally saved my college experience and allowed me to fall in love with Kent. It helped me find a “home” at a place that had felt so uncomfortable prior to that.

My first Alpha Phi event. A social with the boys of Alpha Tau Omega. September, 2002

I wish I had more of my photos from that pledge semester, but most of them are still at home in Ohio. One of these days, I’ll bring them all back with me to Texas so I can post more of them on the blog.

Out with some of my Phi sisters in February, 2003

As a sorority, we sang Days during recruitment, formals, date parties, other random parties where a lot of Phis were present, in the car, pretty much anywhere and everywhere. It’s also a tradition to play Days at Phi weddings. Every time I hear it it gives me goosebumps because it has so many fond memories attached to it.

I couldn’t find a great video of the song, so this one will have to do. However, I think it was Natalie Merchant with 10,000 Maniacs that originally sang it.

 

The lyrics are really what make the song so special.

These are the days
These are days you’ll remember
Never before and never since, I promise
Will the whole world be warm as this
And as you feel it,
You’ll know it’s true
That you are blessed and lucky
It’s true that you
Are touched by something
That will grow and bloom in you

These are days that you’ll remember
When May is rushing over you
With desire to be part of the miracles
You see in every hour
You’ll know it’s true
That you are blessed and lucky
It’s true that you are touched
By something that will grow and bloom in you

These are days
These are the days you might fill
With laughter until you break
These days you might feel
A shaft of light
Make its way across your face
And when you do
Then you’ll know how it was meant to be
See the signs and know their meaning
It’s true
Then you’ll know how it was meant to be
Hear the signs and know they’re speaking
To you, to you

 

4 thoughts on “Friday photo flashback

  1. Was just reading your comment over at Happy or Hungry – I think that is hilarious that you picked a fight with your man just because your hair wasn’t doing what it was told. It probably wasn’t that hilarious for your man though 🙂

  2. Awww, you look so young and cute in those pics (I re-read that and thought it sounded a bit creepy, so I mean that in the non-creepiest way possible, haha).
    I have a few songs that take me back to old times. I love it when I randomly hear them on the radio or something and they give me surprise goosebumps.

Leave a Reply

