Texas transitions – The big move

As an Ohioan living in Texas, moving here has provided many new (and sometimes interesting, other times odd, many times challenging) experiences. I will admit, I am chage-o-phobic. I can barely handle a new TV channel line-up without freaking out, so you can imagine how I dealt with all of the changes involved in a cross-country move. It’s been an up and down battle, but I think I’m finally starting to get settled in here in the lone-star state.

I decided to do a mini-series for the blog called “Texas Transitions” in which I reflect upon some of the differences between Ohio and Texas and some of the experiences I have had while adjusting to life so far away from everything that is “normal” (aka Ohio). I am obviously not the first person to ever leave home and move somewhere new, so maybe my stories, struggles, and reflections about life in a new place will help someone else who is going through a similar transition. At the very least, some of the stories should be good for a laugh! I have loads of ideas for these posts, but I thought I’d start from the beginning and give you the (somewhat) short version of how the heck I ended up down here!

As you’ve probably gathered by now, I went to Ohio State for grad school. And I LOVED it! Seriously. My life was everything I ever wanted for those two years of grad school. I had an assistantship that required me to work 20 hours on campus (with Fridays off!) and paid for my schooling, I took 9 hours of class every quarter, I was at Ohio State (I mean, come on, that school is bursting with school spirit and awesomeness), and I had a social life that was non-stop. Happy hours, OSU football games, cohort dinners, nights out, holiday parties, trips to TN for long weekends in a cabin, so on and so forth, packed my calendar. Life was good.

Cohort trip to Tennessee, 2008

Sure, I got burnt out from classes from time to time and had a lot of papers to write. And sure, there was cohort drama from time to time. And ok, I dated some sketch characters at the time. But in general, it was a damn good time.

End of winter quarter party, 2008

I was also in love with the city of Columbus. I grew up in Columbus, but from the time I left for college to the time I returned in 2007 the city had changed. It was a great place to be a young twentysomething and there was always something to do.

Columbus, Ohio

I not only loved Columbus, but I also loved Cleveland. Yes, I know Cleveland gets a bad rap, but I think it’s a great city with a lot going on. It’s much “older” than Columbus, but it has a lot of history because of it. Plus, it’s where most of my college friends live(d), so I loved to visit.

Cleveland, Ohio

Naturally, when I began my job search in January (ish) 2009, I focused on Columbus and Cleveland schools. I’m sure you’re now scratching your heads thinking “so how the heck did you end up in Texas 6 months later?!”…that’s where it gets a bit fuzzy.

There was a turning point in February (ish) where I suddenly began applying for jobs all over the place. I ended a relationship just after Valentine’s Day (so romantic of me, huh) and felt the itch to get out of Ohio. I knew most of my grad schools friends would be leaving the state and I didn’t want to get left behind. I attended a job placement conference in March (if you’re not familiar, in the world of Higher Ed, you often attend a placement conference for your first job out of grad school. Basically, you go to said conference, so do a bunch of other employers, and you get to interview with a slew of schools from all over the country…nice and convenient) and I filled my interview schedule with schools from across the country instead of just Columbus and Cleveland.

At the placement conference in 2009

 I interviewed with about 20 colleges, had second interviews with about 10 of those, and then did “on campus” interviews at my top 4 choices. None of which were in Ohio. Somehow, my on campus interviews all ended up being to the west and included schools in Colorado, Arizona, and ta-da…Texas! In late-April, after a complete whirl-wind job search (there was a time for about a month where I had at least one flight per week), I received a job offer for a position in Texas that started in July.

I don’t remember exactly when reality the panic set in, but at some point around late-May I remember ending up on my bedroom floor (after a night out downtown with friends) crying hysterically. It had hit me. I was leaving Ohio. And I was freaked! I hardly had time to let this new reality sink in because May, graduation, and June flew by and before I knew it, it was my last night out in Columbus to say good-bye to friends. Everyone was leaving. The awesome ride was over. It was time to move on.

The last night out with good friends in Ohio

And in late-June, I too moved on and I made the move to Texas!

This was my view as I followed behind my moving truck in my car on the drive from Ohio to Texas

 The rest, as they say, is history. History that I’ll recap in future Texas transitions posts. Stay tuned! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Texas transitions – The big move

  1. I love this series! I would love to pick up and move, but I don’t think I could have left my family. Moving from PA to MD was bad enough, you have a ton of guts to move across the country!

  2. That would be crazy to just pack up and move across the country! I fear change as well, so I seriously cannot even imagine. I think you picked a good time to do it though, right after school ended, since you mentioned all your school friends were probably leaving the area as well. NOTHING is ever the same after college! Sadly… (and not sadly, I like things now, but I will always miss my college days)
    I think I’m gonna like this series!

  3. Change is good but there’s no place like home. I did the same. I moved to ATX on a whim in 2009, loved it but just moved back. I can’t wait to read your stories. I’m sure so much will be parallel to my experiences.

    • I agree, Megan, there is no place like home! I LOVE Austin though, so that may be my next move. I guess I’ll have to wait and see 🙂 Thanks for dropping by, I’m glad I got to find your blog.

    • Hi! That is kind of ironic that you found me and you’re considering a move here, yourself 🙂 A lot of the things I’ll be blogging about in the upcoming weeks focus on my transition from the midwest to TX, so that should give you a good sneak peak of what it’s like. I have found that TX is very different from the midwest, yet it has some similarities as well. Obviously, it’s WAY hotter here! The food is amazing and generally the people in FW are very very nice. That’s something I really like about FW and a reason I chose to live in FW instead of Dallas. Also, there is a TON to do in this area. FW has so many things to offer, but if you get bored there’s always Dallas a mere 40 minutes away and Houston and Austin are not a bad drive, either. I have found quite a few people from the midwest living down here, so you won’t be alone!! Probably one of the best things about TX is that the cost of living is pretty cheap. It’s actually a bit lower than the cost of living in Ohio and I’d imagine it would also be quite a bit lower than Chicago. Plus, the economy is still pretty strong here which is not the case for most of the US. If you have any other questions feel free to ask 🙂 I’d be happy to share my experiences!

  4. I really like this series. I’ve moved around a bit myself growing up with a Navy dad and then married to a Navy man. I pretty much grew up in Texas so I’m partial but even moving back to this huge state was a struggle!

    Hope you are keeping cool up there!!! It sure is hot in Houston!

Leave a Reply

