10 Personal Questions

I used to love filling out those surveys that circulated Myspace (yep, remember Myspace?) and Facebook back in the day. You might already know this about me if you’ve read my post 25 Things.

Caitlin over at Healthy Tipping Point posted a 10 Personal Questions Part 1 and Part 2 recently and I’m going to copy her and do it too because I love her blog and I love random questions about myself 😛  I’m going out-of-order and doing Part 2 first because I like these questions better!

What are you really good at? What are you really bad at?

I’m really good at math, documenting my life through pictures, keeping in touch via FB/email/text/personal visits, cleaning, making and sticking to schedules, school/tests, swimming, and baking. I’m really bad at grammar and punctuation, keeping up with people via phone, dealing with uncertainty or change, cooking without a recipe, and not worrying about everything all of the time.

Have you ever been in a car accident? What happened?

From what I remember, I’ve been in three accidents. One was when I was in the 5th grade and I was with my dad on our way to the gas station. A car ran a red light going about 55mph and slammed into the passenger door where I was sitting. This was by far the worst! Another was when I was a junior in HS and was on my way to an out-of-town basketball game. An old lady ran a stop sign and ran into me. The third was just last year when I was on my way to Walgreens around 10pm and thought I was getting into the turn lane only to find out it was a fake turn lane and I was zooming ahead full speed into an oncoming curb. I ran into and over the curb (which was actually a rather sizable median) and completely blew out and screwed up a wheel.

Why did you attend your college?

Honestly, I can’t really tell you why Kent State first entered my radar or why it took the #1 spot during my college search. I do know that I wanted a large public school that was a decent way’s away from home so that I wouldn’t be attending college with all of my high school (which ruled out Ohio State the very popular choice of many of my HS classmates). Kent State fit that bill. Another factor might have been that a friend of mine at the time was also considering Kent and I knew that was my chance to go to college with a friend (she left after one semester though and we’ve since lost touch, so that was quickly an obsolete reason). When I received my full-ride scholarship it was a done deal.  

Describe your morning routine today

The alarm went off at 5:15am. I quickly changed it to 6:15am and decided I was NOT working out before work. I got up, brushed my teeth, showered, and then realized the cat was freaking out for some reason and running all over the place like a bat outta hell. After trying to figure out what in the heck was going on with him for about 30 minutes (he was acting like he had something on him that was bothering him, so I worried he had fleas!! But I searched and searched and found nothing, so I don’t know), I finally slapped on some make-up and tried to figure out what to do with my hair. I cursed myself, yet agin, for cutting stupid bangs that now look horrible and won’t do anything. I then gulped down a breakfast shake and packed my lunch and ran out the door 20 minutes late!

Have you ever snooped through someone else’s things? Find anything interesting?

Honestly, I can’t say whether I have or have not done this. No recent memory of snooping comes to mind, so I guess that’s a good thing!

What do you think happens when you die?

At this point in my life, I’m not really religious, so I don’t have a standard answer for this. I tend to think that things just end. I know this possibility freaks a lot of people out, but for some reason it’s fairly comforting for me. Ask me again in a few years and this answer might have changed. However, I don’t think anyone living will every really know the answer to this.

Are you superstitious?

Yes and no. I do say “knock on wood” quite a bit when I’m trying not to jinx myself. And I have this odd obsession with fortune cookies and believing they sometimes hold all of life’s answers (ok, I’m kidding, kinda). However, I don’t really do any sort of ritual for OSU games like wearing the same socks everytime to make sure I don’t jinx the team or anything like that. I just think superstition is all fun and games.

Do people think you are younger or older than you actually are?

Ugh, younger. I’m 28, but am usually told I don’t look any older than 20 or 21. I don’t say, ugh, because looking young is a bad thing. I’m sure when I’m 40 I’ll gladly accept the fact that I look younger (and hopefully I still will). But, when working at a university it gets kind of old when I am constantly asked by students’ parents if I’m “an undergrad” if I “really do have a degree” or told “we would prefer to talk to someone who is actually old enough to know what is going on” of “there’s NO WAY you can possible have a master’s degree”. Thanks peeps.

Also, I still get heckled ALL. THE. FREAKIN’. TIME. in my car whenever I’m driving down a freeway and a car full of pubescent boys drives by or I get stuck at a red light next to a similar car full of uber mature gentlemen.  

How did you parents’ relationship influence you?

Oh lordy, this probably deserves a post all its own. My parents divorced when I was 12, and it made me a very strong person. The end.

What were the three happiest moments of your life?

It is so hard to only pick three happiest moments! I’d have to say: The day I found out I got my full-ride to Kent, the day I found out I got into Ohio State for grad school and then moved to Columbus, and the day I started dating Michael.

2 thoughts on “10 Personal Questions

  1. Hahaha, I love answering questions about myself too. I may have to copy YOU and do this up!
    By the way, without fail I read something in your first couple of sentences and want to comment IMMEDIATELY. I have to stop myself from skipping the rest of the post and just commenting!

    I am the opposite, so so bad at math, but grammar and punctuation are my thang.
    Annnd people always think I am younger than I am. I still get ID’d all the time (and the drinking age is 19 in Canada), and I definitely still get heckled by prepubescent boys as well.

    I am also similar to you with the parents thing… Mine divorced when I was 17 and their relationship was extremely rocky all throughout high school. Definitely made me stronger as well though.

    Also, cats are weird.

  2. Pingback: 10 personal questions – part 2 | My Blonde Moments

Leave a Reply

