Bring on the pumpkins

As I mentioned yesterday, with the start of school comes the start of fall, so I have fall on the brain. For me, fall is not just a season it is an OBSESSION! I’m probably the opposite of most people because I get so excited as summer draws to a close. There are just so many awesome things about the fall!

source

Since Texas is kind of lacking in the “fall” season, this post will at least let me reminisce about the things that I loved about fall when I lived in a state that actually had seasons. If you’re in one of those areas of the world just know that I’m extremely jealous! Send me some pics of changing trees or something to tide me over.

Fall means the start of college football. Especially Buckeye football!

No need to really elaborate here other than to say that the start of college football season has always been one of my favorite things. What’s better than college football, tailgating, grilling out with friends for away games, cheering on your favorite team, and heading to the Shoe on a Saturday for a Buckeye’s game? Answer: nothing! I love football Saturdays and when I worked at Ohio State it was such a thrill to hear the band’s fight song echoing through campus on game-days.  Please no mean comments about the current situation involving Ohio State and the football team. I’m pretending that nothing has happened!

Fall means changing leaves.

I just love the way nature looks during the fall. The clear skies and changing trees are just beautiful! As the weather turns cooler, I love to bundle up on crisp fall nights and enjoy the outdoors. I’d much rather be outside in the fall when it’s cooler than during the summer when it’s so hot.

Fall means the Pumpking Spice Latte at Starbucks is back on the menu!

Oh man, do I ever love the day when the pumpkin spice latte is finally back at Starbucks. In fact, I love anything and everything pumpkin spice. Pumpkin muffins, pumpkin donuts, pumpkin pie…you name it, I love it!

source

Apparently Starbucks is having a competition this year to bring the PSL to your town one week earlier than the normal release date. Come on FW, we’ve gotta get on this!!

Fall means Halloween

Halloween is one of my favorite holidays. I love the candy (duh…candy corn is amazing), I love the movies (more on that in a sec), and I love to dress up and go to Halloween parties. Halloween was big at my college, so the love of it has kind of stuck with me.

Fall means horror movie marathons on TV!

source

I love me some old-school horror movies and October brings with it horror movie marathons for Halloween. I like all the cheesy classics like Halloween, Poltergeist, Friday the 13th, etc. My DVR always works overtime in the month of October.

Fall means sweaters, sweatshirts, and other fall clothing

I’m a sweater-a-holic. I love a good, comfy sweater or sweatshirt. I also have a thing for coats and scarves, so I don’t mind when the temps drop even further so I can further accessorize for the crisp weather.

Fall means pumpkins!

I love pumpkins and so does Perry…

Hmmm...what is this thing?

Smells kinda funny

Is anyone else as excited for the fall or am I the only werido out there that is happy summer is coming to an end?!

14 thoughts on “Bring on the pumpkins

  1. I love me some fall! I’m a huge horror movie/halloween fan. But I love winter even more. Mainly because it never feels cool until like, December in Florida. But I can rock some scarves and boots. Also, all my shows start up in the fall! 🙂 Summer can suck it. Oh, and check you out with the brown hair!

    • So true about winter, Paula! I’m kind of the same way now that I’m in TX. Fall it just like an extension of summer down here haha. And how could I forget about all of the TV shows coming back in the fall?! One of the best things, for sure.

  2. Fine. I love fall too. But I WILL miss summer!
    I love the changing leaves, sweatshirt weather, scary movie marathons, HALLOWEEN COSTUMES!!!! (and bahaha to yours), pumpkin spice lattes…so much more.

    Loving you with brown hair! I have always been afraid to dye mine darker…

    • Thanks! I’ve gone brunette a few times actually, but I always end up going back to blonde. I’ve had a little bit of that itch to dye it darker again, but I think I’ll avoid the hassle and just talk myslef out of it 😉

  3. I LOVE FALL for exactly all the same reasons! People in TX don’t understand 🙂 I found myself missing ATX a little the other day but then remembered I get fall and snow. I will post as much as I (remember) can, dear!

    • I know, people in TX really don’t understand what a true “fall” is all about. Luckily I get to visit NY in October, so at least I’ll get a small taste of a true fall. I’ll be looking forward to your posts to tide me over 🙂

  4. Although, I’m one of those people sad to see anything Summer-like go away, I do have to agree with you on the whole Pumpkin Spice thing. I could eat something pumpkin spice everyday and the pumpkin spice flavored coffee is probably one of the things that I spend ridiculous amounts of money on. That’s probably my one Fall guilty-pleasure. =)

  5. I’m pretty excited too! Although, moving back up to PA from Maryland means fall comes earlier for me, as in, like, right now. Seriously, it’s coming, and I’m not quite okay with it coming quite so early this year. I hate Halloween, but because fall means winter is coming and Christmas is my favorite holiday, I’m okay with it. I love sweaters, too!!

  6. I love fall, don’t get me wrong – for me, you left cider mills off the list! HOWEVER, I dread it because it means that winter is coming. I live in the midwest. Winter sucks. I don’t know how I will keep surviving winter, because it gets harder and harder to deal with every year!!

    But yes. Fall is nice. Especially when those evil, addictive Reese’s pumpkins arrive.

    • Oh, how could I forget apple cider?! See, I don’t mind winter that much. I even went to college in the snow belt and kind of liked it. I just hate driving in snow. Other than that, I’m usually good.

Leave a Reply

