Brownies + Reese’s = A better day!

I’m not sure what the deal has been lately, but things have been a little cray-cray. From work craziness to general life frustrations (like my iPhone suddenly using a crap ton of data for no apparently reason and causing me overages or my constantly deflating car tire), the past two weeks have been, well, nuts!

To avoid pulling out my hair or sitting in a corner crying in frustration, I busted out my baking supplies and got to work. I love to bake and I think it’s one of the best forms of stress-relief when things get a little crazy. Plus, enjoying the end result is an added bonus 😉

What could possibly be better than a brownie with a Reese’s cup inside. All wrapped up in a nice little tin-foil package?!

This recipe is always a huge hit, so I wanted to share it with all of you as a “bad day cure” in case things ever get a little cray-cray.

Ingredients: 1 box of brownie mix, 1 bag of Reese’s minatures, eggs, water, oil, and foil cupcake wrappers

Directions: Prepare brownie mix as indicated on package 

Unwrap about 16 Reese’s cups and set aside.

If you live in Texas (or the surface of the sun) your Reese’s cups will likely be a little soft and this will happen as you try to unwrap them:

To avoid this problem simply pop your Reese’s cups in the fridge for about 5 minutes before unwrapping.

Line a cupcake pan with foil wrappers. Do not use the paper ones, they will stick to the brownie!

Using a large tablespoon, fill the wrappers just over 1/2 full. Do not over fill! Then, place a Reese’s cup in the center of each muffin. Do not press down!

As you can see, the Reese’s will sink a little on their own.

Bake at 350 degrees for approximately 22 minutes or until set. Do not over bake! I use a toothpick the first time to test the brownie part. When it comes out mostly clean, they are done!

To avoid eating all of the Reese’s cups you need for the recipe, keep a bag of mini Reese’s on hand to snack on while they bake 🙂

When the brownies are done baking, take them out of the oven and allow them to sit in the pan for about 1 minute to firm up a bit. When they’re not blazing hot, transfer them to a cooling rack. Just don’t let them sit in the pan too long or they’ll continue to bake (another reason you don’t want to over bake them in the oven).

Let them cool completely before storing. However, feel free to sneak one while it’s still warm to treat yourself. You have to taste test them, after all! 😛

Oh yea, and don’t forget to lick the spoon when you’re all done! If this doesn’t make your bad day better, I don’t know what will!

7 thoughts on “Brownies + Reese’s = A better day!

  1. Oh sweet baby cheese, those look amazing. I want to eat them right now.
    I feel ya on the craziness! I am so busy at work right now I want to scream! I am hoping it simmers down on the crazy front soon… though probably not, because it’s back to school time and the slack-fest is over at my work! (and yours too, I’m sure)

Leave a Reply

